“SNL” Announces Premiere Date For Season 48!

But who will host?

The NBC comedy series will premiere on October 1st followed by consecutive shows on October 8th and October 15th.

No hosts or musical guests have been announced yet for a season that is said to see major changes this autumn.

A lot of challenges have struck the network, including cast shake-ups and former stars questioning if the show should continue.

Players Alex Moffat, Melissa Villaseñor and Aristotle Athari, as well as longtime staples Aidy Bryant, Pete Davidson, Kate McKinnon and Kyle Mooney, won’t be returning to the show this year.

Ben Affleck’s former girlfriend and “SNL” producer Lindsay Shookus is also out after 20 years working behind the scenes of the parody skit series.

However, Kenan Thompson is coming back for the upcoming season alongside returning stars Heidi Gardner, Mikey Day, Andrew Dismukes, Chloe Fineman, James Austin, Punkie Johnson, Bowen Yang, Michael Che, Colin Jost, Ego Nwodim, Chris Redd, Sarah Sherman and Cecily Strong.

Lorne Michaels created “SNL” in 1975 and has been the showrunner for most of its multidecade run. He stopped producing the show from 1980 to 85.