Everything You Need To Know About Adele’s Album “30”

Everything you need to know about Adele's new album

It’s finally here! After what’s felt like an eternity … Adele’s highly anticipated album 30 is out NOW!

Whenever she releases new music, she sets records. So with the anticipation and hype around her record, this is not going to disappoint. She’s set to smash records with it.

It’s been 6 years since her previous album 25 was released. When it was released in November 2015 it debuted at number one in 32 countries. It was also the best selling album worldwide with 18.4 million copies sold that year and has become one of the best selling albums of all time.

Big shoes for 30 to fill …

But this album is expected to perform just as well.

Adele's new album "30"

About Adele’s Album 30

30 is the result of a lot of self reflection. It’s an answer to big questions. Questions about life, her break-up, her son, and more.

She went deep when writing this one to hold herself accountable. “I realized that I was the problem,” she told Vogue. “Cause all the other albums are like, ‘You did this! You did that! F**k you! Why can’t you arrive for me?’ Then I was like: ‘Oh, sh*t, I’m the running theme, actually. Maybe it’s me!’”

This highly anticipated album was preceded by the release of several tracks including lead single “Easy On Me,” which took the #1 position on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart since it was released four weeks ago.  The single has also broken streaming, radio and chart records around the world.

“To Be Loved” Premiered On Instagram


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Adele (@adele)

She’s gone on record to say this isn’t a divorce album. “It was more me divorcing myself,” she continued to Vogue UK. She also told Vogue UK that the record is about “self-destruction” but also “self-reflection and then sort of self-redemption.”

So it’s not totally about divorce … but on an Instagram Live session in October with her fans, she said the album was about “divorce, babe, divorce.”

Just like all of Adele’s albums, this one is deeply personal. But she hopes that sharing her pain and journey will help others pull themselves out of dark places.

In a recent interview with Apple Music she said, “I realized, I actually didn’t like who I was. And I think I just really got, like most other human beings, especially of my age, really just got into that thing of just going through the motions. Like I’ve got to get over there. And wasn’t opening my eyes, and seeing what was actually happening at the time, and enjoying the world around me and stuff like that. And I really think that some of the songs on this album could really help people, really change people’s lives. I think a song like ‘Hold On’ could actually save a few lives. I really, really do.”

Her self-described “Hell” has resulted in an amazing piece of art that will go down in history.

Tracklist For Adele’s Album 30

This new album contains 12 new tracks, and 3 bonus songs.

Adele's "30" Album Cover Art

  1. Strangers by Nature
  2. Easy on Me
  3. My Little Love
  4. Cry Your Heart Out
  5. Oh My God
  6. Can I Get It
  7. I Drink Wine
  8. All Night Parking (With Erroll Garner) Interlude
  9. Woman Like Me
  10. Hold On
  11. To Be Loved
  12. Love Is a Game

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Wild Wild West
  2. Can’t Be Together
  3. Easy on Me (With Chris Stapleton)

RELATED: Adele announces the official tracklist for 30

“Adele One Night Only” Gave A Preview Of New Album

On November 14th, CBS aired a primetime special in order to promote the release. The special featured concert performances, and an interview with Oprah Winfrey.

The special was recorded at the Griffith Observatory in LA. The concert included several songs from 30. The full set list of the special includes: “Hello,” “Easy On Me,” “Skyfall,” “Someone Like You,” “When We Were Young,” “Make You Feel My Love,” “Rolling In The Deep,” “Hold On,” “Love Is A Game,” and “I Drink Wine.”

RELATED: There’s not enough wine for the Adele special airing on CBS …

CBS announced that the special had roughly 10 million viewers for CBS. The network said it was the most-watched entertainment special since the Oscars seven months ago.

Watch the Music Video For “Easy On Me”

Critical Acclaim For 30 By Adele

Critics are loving 30 too. It’s being called Adele’s finest album to date.  Rolling Stone exclaimed “Adele has never sounded more ferocious” in their 5-star review of the album.  They went on to definitively say “30 is the Best Adele Album Yet.”

Variety agreed and described 30 as “a richer, more compelling collection that feels like her best.”  Clash called the album “a work of personal and artistic triumph,” and I-D noted “no one does it better.”

And we say the same! 30 is a beautiful depiction of her life at the time she wrote this music. You can hear that she put her soul into this one.