Bad news if you’re catholic and need to be on a gluten-free diet. The Vatican has decreed that the small wafers, or hosts, used in the traditional catholic communion ceremony MUST contain gluten!
The directive went out to bishops worldwide in a letter posted by Vatican Radio. The letter read: “Hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist.”
It goes on to say that the bread “must be unleavened, purely of wheat, and recently made so that there is no danger of decomposition.” Using anything else to make it gluten-free is thus off-limits. However, low-gluten wafers are fine!